UNDER DESTRUCTION – Origin
 
Label: self-financed
Release: October 22, 2012
By: Stormlord
Rating: 8/10
Time: 39:29
Style: Death Metal
URL: Under Destruction
 

The suspense-packed intro called Rapture gives us a warm welcome to the musical world of UNDER DESTRUCTION. A while later, controlled aggression and an intensely screeched refrain show up as next brownie points during the tune Nitrogen Narcosis. Heaven Shall Burn and The Forsaken could be mentioned as reference points, because the compositions are dominated by both experiments and tenacious Thrash/Death rhythms. The partly cool stomping rhythm in course of the track Of Brass And Bones augments the necessary dynamics felicitously.
Well done so far – but it really gets interesting afterwards through the use of quite extravagant elements. Fire (Guardians Part I) convinces me with an enriching symphonic touch and the thrilling mosh-part at the song’s end. Truth - Mercy - Regret integrates special percussions, which attract my attention anew. Declaration and Memories Erode focus on one-dimensional emotions called anger and aggression, ere the epic tune Ice (Guardians Part II) offers a broader spectrum: orchestral bombast, oppressing high-speed, stomping sequences and sustained lead melodies care for persuasive alternation. In my opinion, the short and raging track Traitor appears a little bit paler, but Origin Of The Blight reconciles me with interesting measure changes, filed guitar work and at least the contained conclusion.
Sometimes, Origin shows up as just solid and good, aggressive album, which lacks of specialness. In some cases, the band breaks the conventional structures and uses juicy elements like orchestral grandiloquence or interesting percussions. These parts should be expanded in future, the potential is at hand, but more courage for risks is desirable!

UNDER DESTRUCTION – Origin

 
Label: Eigenproduktion
Release: 22.10.2012
Von: Stormlord
Punkte: 8/10
Time: 39:29
Stil: Death Metal
URL: Under Destruction
 
Mit dem spannungsgeladenen Intro namens Rapture gelingt UNDER DESTRUCTION ein stimmungsvoller Einstieg, mit kontrollierter Aggression und dem intensiv dargebotenen Refrain des folgenden Nitrogen Narcosis fahren die Jungs dann die nächsten Pluspunkte ein. Als grobe Orientierungspunkte seien Heaven Shall Burn und The Forsaken genannt, denn sowohl eine gewisse Experimentierfreude als auch stur nach vorne drückende Thrash/Death-Rhythmik fließen ins Klangbild mit ein. Der teilweise cool stampfende Rhythmus bei Of Brass And Bones steigert die Dynamik.
So weit, so gut – so richtig interessant erscheinen mir jedoch die extravaganteren Elemente, die etwa Fire (Guardians Part I) einen symphonischen Anstrich verpassen. Die dezenten Orchestersounds bereichern dieses Stück enorm, auch der mitreißende Moshpart am Ende sitzt perfekt. Truth - Mercy - Regret schickt dann spezielle Percussions ins Rennen, die erneut aufhorchen lassen. Schneller und direkter fokussieren sich Declaration und Memories Erode auf zu eindimensionale Emotionen, bevor das epische Ice (Guardians Part II) ein breiteres Spektrum bietet: orchestraler Bombast, drückender Highspeed, stampfende Sequenzen und gezogene Leadmelodien sorgen für überzeugende Abwechslung. Das kurze und wütende Traitor wirkt wieder ein bisschen blasser, ehe Origin Of The Blight durch interessante Rhythmuswechsel, ausgefeilte Gitarrenarbeit und nicht zuletzt den getragenen Abschluss einen quicklebendigen Schlusspunkt setzt.
Manchmal ist Origin einfach nur ein gutes, aggressiv nach vorne preschendes Album, dem die Besonderheiten fehlen. Immer dann, wenn die Band aus konventionellen Strukturen ausbricht und orchestralen Bombast oder interessante Percussions ins Spiel bringt, gestaltet sich die Musik spannend und besonders. Also: Potential vorhanden, noch mehr Mut zum Risiko wünschenswert!