BETEPAH – The Second Campaign

 
Label: self-financed
Release: April 1, 2015
By: Stormlord
Rating: 6/10
Time: 30:22
Style: Death Metal
URL: Betepah
 

Cliché olé! A tank on the cover, the band´s name BETEPAH (veteran) and lots of military symbolism – you can surely guess about the music on The Second Campaign…of course you can expect Death Metal, quite old school in direct and unadorned manner. The musicians keep miles away from experiments and therefore even the scenery in mid-paced speed with a decent groove, so that this half of an hour passes by quickly.
Fine leads can be heard in the melodic background and the good understandable vocals cares for another brownie point, in contrast to the very modern drum sound, lowering the joy in listening a bit. The quite epic way of composing lets the pieces enough space to breathe, but I wait for surprises in vain, although the tempo and the technical level is augmented noticeably during the tune Illusion of Freedom. Simple, but concise, the refrain leaves some traces in my mind, but this instance does not suffice to raise my fists in ecstasy and only benevolent toe-tapping is caused. Thus, the music oscillates between technical finesse and dry-as-a-bone grooves to invade my auditory canals nicely – and the best track Память (Memory) is saved for the finale. In this case, the partly throttled, then again whipping and clattering rhythm forces my acclamation. 
This album cares for best entertainment, caused by felicitous rhythms and a continuous melodic touch; unfortunately, the lack of turns and light-bulb-moments prevents this effort to protrude from the vast amount of “only good” troops.

BETEPAH – The Second Campaign

 
Label: Eigenproduktion
Release: 01.04.2015
Von: Stormlord
Punkte: 6/10
Time: 30:22
Stil: Death Metal
URL: Betepah
 

Klischee olé! Ein Panzer am Cover, der Bandname BETEPAH (Veteran) und jede Menge kriegerische Symbolik – dreimal dürft ihr raten, welche Musik euch auf The Second Campaign erwartet…na klar, Death Metal der alten Schule in direkter und schnörkelloser From dargeboten. Von Experimenten halten sich die Musiker meilenweit fern, es wird meist in mittelschnellem Tempo geplättet und gegroovt, sodass diese halbe Stunde wie im Flug vergeht.
Feine Leads ziehen im Hintergrund die melodischen Fäden, der gut verständliche Gesang stellt sich als weiterer Pluspunkt heraus, im Gegenzug will der moderne Drumsound allerdings nicht so recht ins Gesamtbild passen. Die eher epische Komponierweise gibt den Stücken Raum zum Atmen, doch auf Überraschungen wartet man vergeblich, obwohl das Tempo und der technische Schwierigkeitsgrad etwa bei Illusion of Freedom merklich angehoben werden. Der einfache,  prägnante Refrain hinterlässt Spuren, zum freudigen Fäusterecken oder dem Verknoten der Halswirbel reicht es nicht ganz, wohl  aber zum wohlwollenden Mitwippen. Die Musik pendelt also zwischen trockenen Grooves und technischer Finesse hin und her, läuft demnach richtig gut in die Gehörgänge – und den besten Track haben sich BETEPAH dann für den Schluss aufgehoben, denn bei Память (Memory) zwingt mich der teils verschleppte, dann wieder schnurstracks nach vorne peitschende, knatternde Rhythmus zu Beifallsbekundungen.
Äußerst rhythmusbetont und durchgehend mit einer melodischen Note versehen, sorgt dieses Album für gute Unterhaltung, schafft es aber aus Mangel an Wendungen oder zündenden Ideen nicht, aus der unüberschaubaren Menge an eben „nur guten“ Truppen herauszuragen.