<< archive
 

MIDGE URE

PETE MACLEOD

 
2014-11-21 DE Essen - Zeche Carl
 

I think MIDGE URE does not need further introduction. The native Scot is part of the Pop culture, has rendered outstanding services to the world and music scene and got overwhelmed with awards. Everybody interested in music should know who MIDGE URE is.

:: pics ::

The summer of 2014 has seen MIDGE URE releasing a new album after 13 years. In between he was of course not any bit idle, much the opposite, as he is a restless soul with many projects under his belt. He also toured and still tours a lot. Solo, with band or with collaborative musicians. In support of his brand new album Fragile he just toured the UK so far. For the European countries he rather does it solo & acoustic with a best-of set of his almost 40 years spanning career. MIDGE URE was one of my heroes in the glorious 80s with Ultravox. To see him finally playing live was for sure a very special moment.

As there was absolutely nothing announced, we expected to see something like a 2hrs solo show by MIDGE URE. But, surprise, surprise, as we arrived at Zeche Carl Essen, Germany a support act was about to enter the stage. This was very talented Scottish singer/songwriter :: PETE MACLEOD ::, presenting his debut album Rolling Stone to a wider audience. I have never heard of him before but was immediately pleased and captivated by his likeable charisma and great performance. Also the crowd welcomed him warmly, although I’m sure, most of them did not know him either. PETE MACLEOD plays a straight and pleasingly mix of Rock and Folk with a Pop appeal. Besides, he scored with his (to us funny) Scottish accent, every now and then asking if we were able to understand him. We did, although we had to think what he was trying to tell us at times ;) Great show!
Setlist: Let It Shine, Give A Little Love, Rolling Stone, God Speed, Away, Crestfallen, Today I Went Swimming

That most of the people tonight came along just to see :: MIDGE URE :: is surely no secret and does not narrow the great performance of Pete MacLeod any bit. It’s just natural. However, MIDGE URE kicked in phenomenal with three of his solo hits and proved especially with Breathe that he is still not only an amazing musician but also a great singer. With 61 years. The first goose bumps were caused by his acoustic version of Fade To Grey, he back then wrote with Visage. This was truly awesome! Really. One hit followed the next, taken from different periods of his musical work. Next highlights to me were Dancing With Tears In My Eyes and Love's Great Adventure, both Ultravox hits, that were downright spine-tingling. Such an emotional outburst. From his new album Fragile only two songs were played: the current single Become and the title-track during the encore. In between MIDGE URE was talking to the audience, wittily joking and taking himself and his Scottish roots not too serious ;) We really had good laughs there. Priceless! But he did not leave out serious topics too. Several times he mentioned his Band Aid Project (founded together with Bob Geldorf) that celebrates its 30 anniversary for what both organizers have re-recorded Do They Know It’s Christmas to raise money for the Ebola epidemic in West Africa. Everybody was invited to donate. So, what is left to say? MIDGE URE – a great musician, singer and songwriter, and such a charming man. Great show and a great evening! That’s it!
Setlist: Dear God, Breathe, Call Of The Wild, Brilliant, Fade To Grey, No Regrets, The Voice, Light In Your Eyes, Guns And Arrows, Lament, Man Of The World, Vienna, Become, All Fall Down, Hymn, One Small Day, Dancing With Tears In My Eyes, Love's Great Adventure, If I Was // Fragile, Cold Heart, Spielberg Sky, Contact, Waiting Days

 

story & pics © Dajana & Dajana Winkel • Photography

<< archive
 

MIDGE URE

PETE MACLEOD

 
2014-11-21 DE Essen - Zeche Carl
 

Über MIDGE URE muss man sicherlich nicht mehr viele Worte verlieren. Der gebürtige Schotte ist Bestandteil der Popkultur, hat sich um Vieles verdient gemacht und wurde mit Preisen überhäuft. Jeder, dem die Musik allgemein irgendwie am Herzen liegt, weiß, über wen wir hier sprechen ;)

:: Fotos ::

Nach 13 Jahren hat MIDGE URE im Juli endlich wieder ein neues Soloalbum veröffentlicht (nicht, das er dazwischen untätig gewesen wäre, ganz im Gegenteil). MIDGE URE ist ein ziemlich rastloser Geist und ständig auf Tour. Alleine, mit Band oder als Kollaboration mit anderen Musikern. Mit dem aktuellen Album Fragile war er bisher nur in UK auf Tour. Auf die europäischen Bühnen zog es ihn Solo & Akustik mit einem Best-Of Set aus seiner fast 40 Jahre umfassenden Karriere. Das ich MIDGE URE (natürlich Held meiner Jugend mit Ultravox) in der Zeche Carl in Essen nun endlich mal live zu sehen bekommen würde, war schon ein großartiger Moment!

Obwohl überhaupt gar nichts angekündigt war und wir uns auf sowas wie ein 2-Stunden-Set von MIDGE URE eingerichtet hatten, gab es dann doch einen Support-Act. :: PETE MACLEOD :: überraschte mit einem akustischen Set zu seinem Debüt Album Rolling Stone und zwei älteren Songs. Der talentierte Schotte präsentierte eine sehr schöne und schnörkellose Mischung aus Pop, Folk und Rock und wurde vom Publikum äußerst warmherzig aufgenommen. Kein Wunder, PETE MACLEOD ist sowas von sympathisch und fragte ständig, ob wir wohl seinen (ungemein witzigen) Schottischen Akzent verstehen würden. Haben wir, auch wenn wir schon das eine oder andere Mal überlegen mussten, was er da wohl redete ;) Tolle Show!
Setlist: Let It Shine, Give A Little Love, Rolling Stone, God Speed, Away, Crestfallen, Today I Went Swimming

Es ist allerdings kein Geheimnis, dass das Gros der Leute heute Abend nur wegen einem Künstler hier war (ohne die tolle Performance von Pete MacLeod in irgendeiner Weise schmälern zu wollen), nämlich :: MIDGE URE ::. Und MIDGE URE startete phänomenal in den Abend mit drei seiner Solo Hits, wobei er gerade bei Breathe unter Beweis stellte, das er nicht nur ein Ausnahme-Musiker sondern auch ein Ausnahme-Sänger ist. Und das mit 61 Jahren. Den ersten Gänsehaut-Schauer gab es dann mit der Akustikversion von Fade To Grey, den URE seinerzeit mit Visage geschrieben hat. Der Wahnsinn! Wirklich! Es folgte ein Hit nach dem anderen, aus verschiedenen Perioden seines musikalischen Schaffens, natürlich auch die Hits von Ultravox. Da waren es insbesondere Dancing With Tears In My Eyes und Love's Great Adventure, die mich wirklich umgehauen haben. Von seinem brandaktuellen Soloalbum Fragile gab es leider nur die Single Become und den Titelsong in der Zugabe. Zwischendurch witzelte und scherzte MIDGE URE mit dem Publikum, nahm weder sich noch seine schottische Herkunft allzu ernst und hatte die Lacher somit auf seiner Seite. Natürlich wies MIDGE URE (als Co-Initiator neben Bob Geldorf) während seiner Show mehrmals darauf hin, dass das Band Aid Projekt aktuell seinen 30. Jahrestag feiert und zu diesem Zweck Do They Know It’s Christmas neu aufgenommen hat, um Geld zur Bekämpfung der Ebola-Epidemie in Teilen Westafrikas zu sammeln und forderte das Publikum auf, sich daran zu beteiligen. Ja, was bleibt mir noch zu sagen? Großartiger und bezaubernder Mann, großartige Show, großartiger Abend!
Setlist: Dear God, Breathe, Call Of The Wild, Brilliant, Fade To Grey, No Regrets, The Voice, Light In Your Eyes, Guns And Arrows, Lament, Man Of The World, Vienna, Become, All Fall Down, Hymn, One Small Day, Dancing With Tears In My Eyes, Love's Great Adventure, If I Was // Fragile, Cold Heart, Spielberg Sky, Contact, Waiting Days

 

story & pics © Dajana & Dajana Winkel • Photography